We have expanded our practice.  Reduced wait times for new patient appointments.

Testimonials & Reviews

4.87/5

Alliance Behavioral Psychiatry

Outpatient Psychiatric Mental Health Clinic located in Near University Mall, Orem, UT & Lehi, UT

4.87/5 Star Rating
45 total reviews

Alliance Behavioral Psychiatry always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 45 reviews with an average rating of 4.87 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Alliance Behavioral Psychiatry below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

SHEA L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/22/23
Traci is amazing. I wish there were 10 of her so people could get in sooner.
HOWARD W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/21/23
My experience was Fantastic.
DENNIS N.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/11/23
Dr. Paulson is very helpful in offering advices and insights, helping us understand the nature of the problems that we deal with and giving useful suggestions.
ERIN P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/02/23
I have been seeing Alliance Behavioral Psychiatry for 14 years and I have had nothing but a positive & friendly experience from the staff & my provider.
CHERIE S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/25/23
Dr Paulsen is a very caring doctor. He listens well and gives great advice
JARED A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/21/23
Dr Paulson is so kind and helpful. I would recommend him to anyone.
Lindsey S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/11/23
Dr. Paulson is not only an amazing psychiatrist, but an amazing person as well. He is extremely, kind, caring, compassionate, nonjudgmental, mild mannered, humble, and Christlike. He takes your opinions into consideration just as much as his own, whereas some doctors act like your opinion is useless because you don’t have a doctorate degree. Dr. Paulson is a great listener, wise, concise, and gives good advice. He will point out thinking errors, but kind of let you figure it out for yourself, almost like he is holding your hand, guiding you to find the thinking errors yourself. He does the same thing with advice he gives. He will lead the horse (you) to water, but he can’t make you drink (think positively, see your thinking errors, etc.), he wants you to learn how to “drink” when he isn’t around, which is like 95% of the time during the week! If I had to describe Dr. Paulson in one word, the word I’d choose to describe him as is compassionate. He treats you with the upmost dignity and respect, and simply like you actually matter as a human being. Your thoughts, feelings, hopes, and dreams matter to him. He actually does care about me, sometimes more than I care about myself. He genuinely wants his patients to succeed. I love Dr. Paulson as a human being, he has been there for me when no one else has. I started seeing him after being raped the first time 14.5 years ago, in 2008 on and off through 2014, and since 2014 or 2015 I’ve met with him every Friday, as well as with other therapists and clinicians in various settings from inpatient hospital group therapy, to one on one therapists, to psychiatrists during treatment/rehab for heroin. As you can imagine, in that amount of time I’ve seen a LOT of different clinicians. Too many to name. The only one who I think matches Dr. Paulson’s level of compassion and wisdom is Dr. Eileen Kramer who is a psychologist based in Orange County, CA. The only one I think rivals him in knowledge of PTSD is my therapist who specializes in treating trauma and is one of the most knowledgeable in trauma therapists in his area of expertise. I’ve had a lot of them that are super compassionate, but not as knowledgeable yet. And I’ve had a few who teamed up that were extremely abusive to the point I left rehab a more broken, lost, alone and had more self hatred than before I went in. That being said, finding a psychiatrist on the level of Dr. Paulson feels like finding a unicorn prancing through a field of 4 leaf clover! Dr. Paulson is by far the best psychiatrist I’ve seen. Most are just walk in, tell them your past meds, diagnoses and symptoms in under 5 min, they prescribe you the meds you currently take, plus something “new” and totally ignore you if you say you are pretty sure you’ve tried it before and it didn’t work, they say “well let’s give it another try…” and you leave. Wham, bam, thank you ma’am. “Next patient, please!” After trying roughly 35-40 meds overall, it’s hard to keep track of them all, and most psychiatrists want you in and out, so they don’t ask hardly anything about your back story such as trauma history, why you think you have the feelings you have, is that feeling situational or is it chemical?, child abuse history, etc. so they have to do a lot more trial and error to get the right meds, whereas if they took the time to listen from the start it would be more effective for both the doctor and patient. All in all I end up leaving feeling pretty hopeless. Dr. Paulson did not do that. He took several months before even considering a diagnosis, and is cautious about prescribing medications. I had one doctor I met with for about 20 min who had me walk out with 9 prescriptions after the very first session! That is not something he would ever do. With Dr. Paulson, that is never the case. He always takes time to get to know you, and continues to update his opinions as time and situations change. He leaves how often you want to be seen up to you, so for me I have a 30 min session every other week, switching back and forth between a 60 min session every other week. He actually gives me regular therapy (CBT I think) as well as medication management. Most psychiatrists will only do the latter, and tell you to get a regular therapist for the former. Honestly, one of the main reasons I haven’t moved away is because I know it would be extremely unlikely I can find a psychiatrist even a quarter as helpful as Dr. Paulson. Maybe I can talk him into doing Zoom calls and keep being my psychiatrist if I ever get to move! I could write about the positive aspects of Dr. Paulson all day! The only negative aspects are that he is usually 10-15 min behind schedule, part of that could be him going a few min over time with his other patients like he often does with me, and by 11:00 when I see him, all that time adds up to about 10-15 min. The only other negative thing is not an issue with Dr. Paulson himself whatsoever, but I have a really hard time opening up about my heroin addiction to him since I’m afraid he will judge me, and tbh a lot of other clinicians as well. Therefore, I think that is more my issue of paranoia than him actually judging me. I’m conclusion, if you’re still reading this: if you’re deciding whether or not to go to Dr. Paulson, follow Nike’s motto and JUST DO IT! He is amazing at what he does and wants to help you. If he has a long waiting list still, get on it. See another clinician in the meantime if required, but just do it. He’s definitely worth the wait! Plus he has a lot of insurances available as well. Dr. Paulson, if you ever read this, you’d have a big positive impact on my life and I have no words to describe how thankful I am that you’ve continued to work with me for so long! Thank you for listening to me over analyze, overthink, and complain about certain things. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement and positivity and self love. Just thank you for everything!
ROBIN C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/10/23
As always, Dr. Paulson is SO helpful and amazing. I am grateful for his knowledge and kind demeanor!
ROBERT S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/10/23
I basically see Dr Paulson to remain stable with all the thoughts and Confidences that come to me pertaining to my religion. I rather not be left alone with what keeps comming to me. They belong to the Christian Future like revelations for pre Millennium events. And it seems I have a significant part to play in it according to these confidences. Dr Paulson is of my religion but he doesn't dictate and lets me air my feelings freely and because of that I'm able to get huge charities from what keeps comming to me. It's more of what Father in Heaven and Christ wants to do for whats called "all of the Gospel" in a sinless manner. He will reveal all things pertaining to the cause and effect of living all the laws of God for the Millennium. All in a perfect peace by the Lord Jesus Christ!
DIANA J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/30/22
I just feel very comfortable and understood. He is very soothing to my hectic mind and I like His advice. He helps Me understand myself better.
PAMELA J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/20/22
I’ve been seeing Dr Paulson since he began his practice in Orem, Utah. He has worked with me through my ups and downs and in the wide variety of circumstances in my life. I have stated repeatedly that I owe my life to him and that I stand upright on my own two feet because of him.
Jesse L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/16/22
My favorite thing about Dr Paulson is that he remembers every detail from our previous conversations. He is very personable and easy to talk to.
LYNDA B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/08/22
Ian a76yr old woman. I am bipolar. I have required psychiatric care since I have been 18 years old. Dr. Paulson has been the easiest psychiatrist for me to communicate and receive feedback than any other doctor in three States. I recommend him to anyone how asks.
LILLIAN J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/31/22
I like how she spend a good amount of time to get to know my daughter and did well to lead the discussions. She was patient, empathetic and helpful.
AMBER P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/19/22
I felt heard and understood, and the receptionist was super easy to work with as well.
CLAUDIA B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/16/22
Dr P Paulsen has informed, invested, sympathetic, and knowledgeable in testing my several mental quirks, including chronic depression. I would highly recommend Dr. Paulsen in a heartbeat.
JORGE L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/07/22
Dr Paulson is a very knowledgeable and caring doctor.
JAXSON N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/07/22
Traci has been very helpful with figuring out what to do to help our son. She has great advice and suggestions that has helped us a lot.
LORAINE P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/06/22
Dr. Paulson is attentive, compassionate and sincere. He lets me take all the time I need. He has also come up with the right med to address my depression.
KENNETH L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/04/22
She is patient and detailed on each appointment. She listens to my concerns and recommend solutions through subscription